College of Charleston Home
  • About
  • Academics
  • Admissions
  • Campus Life
  • Honors College
  • Graduate School
  • Library
  • Athletics
  • Giving
Print Page
Bookmark and Share

The Presidential Legacy Awards and Criteria

(One recipient per award.  Past recipients are not eligible.)

These awards are the most purposeful and the driving force of the ExCEL Awards Program.  Each Presidential Legacy Award honors and acknowledges the legacy of each of the Presidential Leaders of the College of Charleston. Faculty, staff, students, and members of local community are eligible for these awards.   The categories of the Presidential Legacy Awards are:

The President Leo I. Higdon Outstanding Leadership Award

This award, based on the vision of the Higdon Student Leadership Center, recognizes an individual who exemplifies the highest standards of professional, social, and cultural leadership – one who has given freely of time and energy to the promotion of excellence in education. The recipient realizes that leadership skills are life skills and that leadership is a process, not a position. The recipient believes that leaders are developed and not born and commits to engaging and preparing students for leadership roles and their role in society while adhering to the College of Charleston core values:  Integrity, Academic Excellence, Liberal Arts Education, and Respect for the individual student, diversity, and public mission. (Excerpt from the Higdon Student Leadership Center’s Program-M. Duncan-2009)

The President Alex Sanders Outstanding Public Service Award

This award recognizes an individual who has positively affected the quality of the campus environment or the quality of service delivery to students and/or local community members in the areas of leadership, valuing people, and understanding of the needs of those who are affected by public policies.  The recipient approaches their activities with humility and a concern for humanity, takes action, and is uncommonly passionate for his/her work. The Public Service Award of Excellence recognizes the recipient who has demonstrated excellence in the achievement of results, commitment to social responsibilities, serving the educational needs of the student, faculty and staff while exemplifying the values, ethics, and priorities of public service.

The President Dr. Theodore Stern Visionary Award

This award goes to the person leading the charge of his/her department or division. The recipient exemplifies the qualities of a true leader, is a visionary, a pacesetter, a colleague with expertise, and has a continuing commitment to their leadership activities.  The recipient understands that changes need to be anticipated and responded to if growth for the campus is going to continue for years to come.

The President Dr. Harry Lightsey Humanitarian Award (In Memory)  

This award is presented to an individual who, through their outstanding involvement and dedication, have made a significant contribution in service which has improved or enriched the lives of others and the welfare of humanity, and whose accomplishments reflect admirably on or bring honor to the College of Charleston.