ExCEL Award Categories and Nominations

The annual Excellence in Collegiate Education and Leadership (ExCEL) Awards program honors members of the College and community who promote excellence and contribute to the College's core values of diversity and inclusion. 

  • All nominations for the ExCEL Awards are reviewed and adjudicated by the awards committee.

The ExCEL award recipients will receive recognition during the program, on the Multicultural Student Programs and Services website, and in a widely-distributed press release.


Outstanding Students of the Year - please read the nominating criteria

Outstanding Student Awards (specialized) - these awards are chosen by committee
Female Student Athlete of the Year    
Male Student Athlete of the Year   
Septima P. Clark Award    
Eugene C. Hunt: Graduating Senior    
Eugene C. Hunt: Rising Senior    
Lucille S. Whipper Award    
Stephen C. Osborne and George P. Watt Jr. Bonner Leader of the Year Award    
SCAMP Student of the Year 

Specialized Awards  
SafeZone Humanity Award - nominating criteria
Demetria N. Clemons Mentoring Award – Chosen by Committee
Good Neighbor Award – Chosen by Committee
The Eddie Ganaway Distinguished Alumni Award - nominating criteria 

The Presidential Legacy Awards - nominating criteria
The President Leo I. Higdon Outstanding Leadership Award 
The President Alex Sanders Outstanding Public Service Award    
The President Theodore Stern Visionary Award   
The President Harry Lightsey Humanitarian Award